CONTACT: Tip | COMMENT: Respond | FOLLOW: | EMAIL: Newsletter


101 KLOL documentary Runaway Radio Houston screening
WATCH: Mike McGuff's "Runaway Radio" 101 KLOL documentary - now streaming!

Monday, April 01, 2024

Texas TV news and radio job moves March 2024

Send tips for the monthly Texas media job list here.

- TAB Salutes 2024 News Award Winners and Finalists
The complete list of winners of the 2024 Gracie Awards
Best TV News Bloopers March 2024


WFAA and Greenspace Dallas to build nature trail in celebration of WFAA’s 75th anniversary.

Producer Kaitlin N. Griffin leaves NBC 5 KXAS.

Seth Bodine joins DBJ to cover Greater Fort Worth.

Producer Katherine Griffith leaves KBTX 3 Bryan-College Station for FOX 4 KDFW.

Cumulus Media’s New Country 96.3 and 99.5 The Wolf Raise $260,000 for Cook Children’s Medical Center at Third Annual Texas Independence Jam at Billy Bob’s Texas.

Dale Hansen talks 3 biggest stories of WFAA career and why he retired
WFAA 8 DFW at Five (broadcast 3/5/1980)
Dia Wall arrives at WFAA
From DFW to Austin, TV love is in the air
Nick Starling leaves CBS News Texas
Haddie Djemal joins Dr. Phil's Merit Street Media
Shannon Murray gives birth
Mike Doocy celebrates 30 years at FOX 4 KDFW
Keith Russell of CBS News Texas apparently no longer with DFW station


Miya Shay named one of Houston's 50 Most Influential Women of 2023 by Houston Woman Magazine.

Former KPRC 2 anchor Larry Audas to retire from TV.

Former KHOU 11 reporter Johnathan Walton profiled in New York Times.

Manny García, Angel Rodríguez announced as new top editors at Houston Landing.

Houston Landing’s CEO voluntarily recognizes newsroom union, signs agreement with NewsGuild

Advertising account executive Sandy Colwell celebrates 30 years with abc13 KTRK.

KPRC 2 executive producer Debbie Strauss leaves TV to join the Infrastructure Division at Office of Commissioner Lesley Briones, Precinct 4.

Rowdy Yates and his “Rowdy Ride Home” can now be heard weekday afternoons in Fresno, California on One Putt Broadcasting’s KWDO “105.5 The Legend.”  -and through the miracle of technology his “Ridin’ with Rowdy” show is now heard weekday mornings on Delta Radio Network’s  WDTL “Delta Country 105.7” in Indianola, Mississippi.

Houston TV veteran Kim Gagne shares message for Women’s History Month.

Mike McGuff on KPRC 2's "Houston Life" talking "Runaway Radio"
Dominique Sachse is going on tour
Modern Storyteller's podcast
Caroline and Rashi show
Houston Celebrity Dairy Goat Milking Contest 2024
Rowdy Yates launches podcast talking to Houston radio greats
Stevens and Pruett as Hudson and Harrigan on 610 KILT in 1976
Natalie Hee leaves FOX 26
FOX 13 Utah reviews my "Runaway Radio" 101 KLOL doc
Marcus Sullivan joins KTSU 90.9 and The Vibe
Houston Matters features my "Runaway Radio" 101 KLOL doc
Sofia Ojeda almost falls victim to scam
Dayna Steele interviews Mike McGuff about "Runaway Radio"
Dominique Sachse talks Dr Phil news launch
Caroline Brown is married
Mike McGuff Talks About His Documentary 'Runaway Radio' with FanboyNation
Robert Springer to leave KHOU 11 GM role
Judy Lakin named Audacy Houston General Sales Manager
KPRC 2's Sofia Ojeda and Brittany Taylor go head to head in a camel race
abc13 KTRK to debut "First at 4AM"
Ralph Cooper celebrates 55 years on-air in Houston
Former Houston TV journalists thriving in post-media life
Anita Martini, the first female TV sports anchor in the US
Lauren Freeman talks Christian parenting with Keith and Lisa Garvin
Tim Heller is training TV meteorologists as far as Africa


KSAT 6 PM News Sees Ratings Uptick Due To Focus On San Antonio Neighborhoods.

KSAT’s Jessie Degollado honored by Catholic Television of San Antonio.

KSAT reporter Jessie Degollado wins 2023 Aguila Lifetime Achievement Award.

Old News 4 WOAI building caught fire.

Ashley Paredez joins FOXSA 29 Puro San Antonio
Ashley Sutton gives birth


After over forty years of branding as “KASE 101, " the iHeartMedia Country station is rebranding as “KASE 100.7."

Syndicated “The Woody Show” returned on “101X” KROX.

David Yeomans leaves KXAN for new job.

Erin Hogan joins ESPN 102.7's "Game Time" with Nick Hadja.

Jasper Scherer, who covered state government and politics for the Houston Chronicle and the San Antonio Express-News since 2021, joined The Texas Tribune as a politics reporter.

KVUE Austin dedicates newsroom in honor of Carole Kneeland


Longtime KGNS-TV chief meteorologist Richard ‘Heatwave’ Berler recognized and celebrated with a new meteorological station dedicated Tuesday, March 26 at 11:30 a.m. at Texas A&M International University (TAMIU).

KGBT tower in La Feria decommissioned safely.

One Longtime Broadcaster Is Trying To Save A Small Texas AM.

Ruben Juarez renews his agreement as the sports director with KVEO in Rio Grande Valley.

Executive producer Trenton Hooker leaves KXXV 25 Waco-Temple-Killeen.

Carly Smith signed a second contract with KIII Corpus Christi to remain the weekday morning meteorologist.

KFOX14 and CBS4 El Paso get new reporters
Lauren Linville leaves KFDX 3 Wichita Falls
Zack Owen exits WACO 100 mornings
Carney Porter promoted to KFDX Wichita Falls weeknight co-anchor
Hannah Burbank joins WIS 10 Columbia, South Carolina
Colin Deaver leaves KTSM 9 El Paso


Arch Yancey, a Country Radio Hall of Famer, has died at 88.

Joyce Slocum, CEO of Texas Public Radio, dies at 66.

Lori Hawkins, veteran Statesman business reporter, died Thursday night. She was 57.

CONTACT: Leave me a Houston or Texas media news tip | COMMENT: Click to leave your thoughts on this post here