SHOP WITH MIKE MCGUFF ON AMAZON! - Help support this blog by buying from my list.

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Who's in The Harris County Media Honor Roll 2015?

Three Houston journalists get props from the Harris County Department of Education

Bill Spencer
Bill Spencer
Some Houston journalists are being honored for their contributions to providing valuable education information to the community, as well as fair and balanced reporting.

The Media Honor Roll 2015 award is issued by Harris County Department of Education (HCDE) on behalf of the Texas Association of School Boards.

And the winners are?
- KPRC 2 reporter Bill Spencer
- African American News & Issues staff writer Rebecca Jones
- KIAH 39 NewsFix assignments editor Michael Carl. You might recognize Carl as a former KTRK abc13 producer/photographer/editor who left the station a few years ago. He's changed TV careers and has been on the KIAH desk for less than a year and already winning.

Last year's winners included KXLN Univision 45 community affairs director Grace Olivares, KTRK abc13 anchor Erik Barajas and FOX 26 KRIV anchor Sally MacDonald.

An awards presentation will be held at the HCDE Board of Trustees meeting Tuesday, Aug. 18, 1pm at 6300 Irvington on the 4th floor.

COMMENT: Click to leave your thoughts on this post here