AUDIO: While I'm away from blogging and posting Houston media news on my Facebook page, go listen to an interview I did on Black Coffee Radio about Houston TV and the Rock 101 KLOL Documentary!

Sunday, August 04, 2013

Texas Radio Hall of Fame nominations 2013

The Texas Radio Hall of Fame, an organization dedicated to the recognition of the giants and greats of Texas radio, has announced its inductees for 2013.

Jim Ray

Gary Allyn

Dusty Black

Clint Culp

Ted Carson

Jonathan Hayes

Steve Eberhart

Madd Hatta

Chuck Joseph

Martha Martinez

Don Peterson

Jack Pieper

Alan Peck & Penny Reeves

Eliza Sonneland

Andy Waldrop

Texas Radio Hall of Fame Hall “Hall of Honor” awards are given to those who have made a significant impact on our industry, this organization, their community and fellow broadcasters. Many Hall of Honor recipients go on to be inductees.

 Texas Radio Hall of Fame recognizes long time East Texas personality and Program Director Dave Moreland…The man who brought METAL to the Alamo City, Joe Anthony… “Outlaw” Dave Andrews from Houston’s KLOL and KPRC…Dallas based personality Mike Wade, who ‘campaigned, with CLASS’-and finally two top-flight General Managers, Ben Downs of WTAW/KZNE/KNDE in College Station, and Larry Gunter long time GM of KYKS “Kicks Our event is dedicated to the late Sam Pate, Dallas/Ft. Worth Radio News Journalist-who was the first to alert the world: “There’s something wrong in the motorcade” 50 years ago this November.

Is there something better than winning an award? Yes, there is. BEING one. The Texas Radio Hall of Fame recognizes the accomplishments of “A Girl Named SAM” –who blazed trails in an industry that was most certainly a man’s world for the first 50 years. This is the first time in the history of our organization that we have ever had a ‘named’ honor-we feel it is fitting for Mary “SAM” Stoddard, and the leading ladies in radio who will receive it. Join me in congratulating the first recipient: J.C. Webster!

The Texas Radio Hall of Fame induction celebration will be held in Dallas-this November. More information can be found at

- The 2012 Texas Radio Hall of Fame inductees
- Texas Radio Hall of Fame inductees for 2011
- The 2010 Texas Radio Hall of Fame Inductees
- 2009 Texas Radio Hall of Fame Inductees
- Texas Radio Hall of Fame nominations 2008

(This post taken from a release sent to me by The Texas Radio Hall of Fame)


  1. One list that Josh Innes, Matt Jackson and Nick Wright will NEVER make.

  2. I am indeed honored and grateful, beyond measure, to have this unique TRHoF Award named for me, by the TRHoF Board and President, Josh Holstead! What a joy it will be for me to see other women Broadcasters receive recognition for their work in the Industry. Mentoring others is one of the things that gives me great pleasure now in my life. I am thrilled to share the dais this November, with so many of the people I've known and worked with in broadcasting over the years. Thank you again, Josh Holstead and the TRHoF Board, for naming this great Award for Women in Radio, after me. I will work hard to honor and elevate the great trust you've shown me, in naming this awesome award after my On-Air Personality at KVIL, Dallas. Too many people to thank, who have helped along the way, but I am grateful to all my amazing friends and supporters who make this Award possible! XOXO to ALL! -- With gratitude, Mary Sam Stoddard, KVIL Radio Dallas 1964

  3. Never heard of any of these people. Seems like if you are old, have been in radio long enough and know the right get in! The Radio Hall of Fame seems to require talent and success.

    1. Anonymous is correct. For example: Kenny Miles (Miles in the Morning) from 104-KRBE, has been nominated two years in a row and huge media star Chuck Joseph is inducted instead. Are you kidding me? Just one example.


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.