Tuesday, July 12, 2011

Texas Radio Hall of Fame inductees for 2011

The names of the 2011 Texas Radio Hall of Fame inductees are listed below along with the radio stations and cities they've been most associated with during their careers.
With their inductions, they will be listed among those who are the greatest of the greats of Texas radio. The induction celebration will be held in Houston later this year. Congrats to all!

Below is the list of all the inductees listed in alphabetical order -- eight from the Houston area, seven from the San Antonio-Austin area, four from the Dallas-Fort Worth area, one from Liberty and one from Tyler.

Ken Barnett
(KVIL - Dallas-Fort Worth)

Bill Buchanan
(KSHN - Liberty)

Mitch Carr
(KVIL/KLUV/KRLD - Dallas-Fort Worth)

Errol Coker
(KHCB - Houston)

"Cuzzin Linnie" Leonard Henderson (Deceased - Died Thursday June 30, 2011)
(KLIF/KNON/KKDA-AM - Dallas-Fort Worth)

Bruce Miller Earle
(KVIL/KNOW/KLAR - San Antonio)

Howard Edwards
(KONO - San Antonio)

Pat Fant
(KLOL/KTXQ/KRBE - Houston)

John Furr

Larry Galla
(KIKK/KVST - Houston)

Lanny Griffith
(KLOL/KTRH - Houston)

Doug Harris
(KLOL - Houston)

Lanny "Hoss" Huggins
(KZAK/KROZ - Tyler)

Pam Ivey
(KKBQ/KIKK - Houston)

Dave Jarrott
(KXOL/KTBC/K98 - Austin-San Antonio)

Larry Don Johnson
(KTSU/KCOH/KULF - Houston)

Ira "Eye" Lipson
(KZEW/WFAA/KTCK - Dallas-Fort Worth)

Richard Mock
(KLIF/KILT - Houston)

Elizabeth Ruiz
(KTSA - San Antonio)

Johnny Shannon
(KTSA/KILT/KONO - San Antonio)

Lee Woods
(KONO/KKPS/KRIO - San Antonio)

The Council of Advisors members are: Al Caldwell, Ann Arnold, Bob Ray Sanders, Bud Buschardt, Chuck Blore, Eddie Barker, Dr. Jerry Hudson, Jo Interrante, Jody Dean, Josh Holstead, Paul Berlin, Sonny Melendrez and Tom Glade and Larry Shannon.



  1. With J.P. and Lana being unceremoniously booted from AM 740 after 27 years of service for that station, I would have voted them into the Hall of Fame this year. They have to at least be considered for some future Texas Radio Hall of Fame class if not for this one.


  2. Lana Hughes and J.P. Pritchard went in the hall of fame in 2009.



Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.