SHOP WITH MIKE MCGUFF ON AMAZON! - Help support this blog by buying from my list.

Monday, April 25, 2011

KHOU 11 honored with 3rd straight ‘Overall Excellence’ Murrow Award and more

KHOU 11 and continue to rack up the awards. The station won three Regional Murrows and two Headliners Foundation of Texas Awards. This is the third year in a row I've written a post like this so I'll let the info KHOU 11 sent me take it from here:

The Radio Television Digital News Association has once again recognized KHOU 11 with the Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence in the Texas-Oklahoma Region. This is the third consecutive year for KHOU to receive this distinction, having gone on to win the National Edward R. Murrow in this category in 2010.

“The Murrow Award for Overall Excellence recognizes the talent of each individual at KHOU,” said Susan McEldoon, KHOU 11 President and General Manager. “To win three years in a row truly highlights the exemplary standard of news our team upholds day after day.”

In all, KHOU won three Regional Murrow Awards. Photojournalist Todd Rogenthien was honored for the second consecutive year in the category of Best Use of Video, and the award for Best Series went to reporter Jeremy Rogalski, photojournalist Keith Tomshe and executive producer David Raziq for the series “Drowning in Neglect.”

The Headliners Foundation of Texas also recently announced winners of its Charles E. Green Awards for excellence in Journalism, naming KHOU’s Kevin Reece as Best Reporter and presenting with the award for Best Online/Special Content for its digital coverage of the I-Team investigation surrounding radiation in the Houston water supply.

The Headliners Foundation works in partnership with the Texas Associated Press Broadcasters (TAPB). Each year the TAPB recognizes excellence and achievement in journalism with awards in various categories. In March, KHOU received 20 TAPB Awards, eight of which were Division winners that went on to compete for the Headliners Foundation distinction.

“The commitment to journalism runs deep throughout the newsroom – on air and online,” said Philip Bruce, KHOU 11 Executive News Director. “It is humbling to be honored by organizations so respected in our industry.”

A breakdown of recent KHOU 11 awards is as follows:

Edward R. Murrow Awards – Region 6:
Overall Excellence: KHOU-TV
Use of Video: Todd Rogenthien, Photojournalist
Series: Drowning in Neglect – Jeremy Rogalski, Keith Tomshe, David Raziq
Headliners Foundation of Texas Charles E. Green Awards:
Best Reporter: Kevin Reece
Best Online/Special Content: Radiation and Houston Water Supply –

Texas Associated Press Broadcasters Division 1 Winners:
Best Newscast
Best Morning Newscast
Best Anchor: Christine Haas
Best Reporter: Kevin Reece
Best Feature Editing: Nathan Kvinge
Best Spot News Coverage: Bank Hostages – Kevin Reece, John Shaw, Leo Gonzalez
Best News Series: Corporations Helping Crooks – Mark Greenblatt, Keith Tomshe
Best Online/Special Content: Radiation and Houston Water Supply –

- KHOU 11 wins National Edward R. Murrow Award for Overall Excellence
- KHOU Channel 11 wins national Murrow Award COMMENT: Click to leave your thoughts on this post here