SHOP WITH MIKE MCGUFF ON AMAZON! - Help support this blog by buying from my list.

Wednesday, April 07, 2010

Texas TV and radio stations win regional Murrow Awards

Just announced this morning, Texas TV and radio stations are bringing home the gold sort of speak for the Lone Star State in the 2010 Regional Edward R. Murrow Award contest.

In Region 6 (Texas and Oklahoma) Houston TV kicked ass with KHOU, KTRK, KPRC, and KRIV winning. KXAS won for Dallas-Fort Worth.

Overall Excellence
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX
KHOU Overall Excellence

Video Continuing Coverage
KPRC-TV - Houston, TX
Cold Case Cracked

Video Reporting: Hard News
KTRK-TV - Houston, TX
Too Much Trauma

Video Investigative Reporting
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX
Under Fire: Discrimination and Corruption in the Texas National Guard

Video News Documentary
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX
Under Fire

Video Newscast
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX
11 News at 5

Video Sports Reporting
KXAS-TV - Fort Worth, TX
A Game of Hope

Use of Video
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX
Todd Rogenthien, Photojournalist

Web site
KHOU-TV - Houston, TX

KRIV-TV - Houston, TX
Greg Groogan 2009


A special shout out to KTRK 13's Tom Abrahams, John Mubarak, Johnny Marquez and Bob Dows who won for hard news reporting concerning a story on the overloaded trauma center at the Memorial Hermann hospital in Houston. And no surprise that a certain Mark Greenblatt and company take home another prestigious award! COMMENT: Click to leave your thoughts on this post here