Friday, September 19, 2014

KTMD Houston to add 4:30pm newscast

Starting November 3, 14 Telemundo Stations Will Add 30 Minutes to Early Evening Newscasts


KTMD Telemundo Houston (and 13 other Telemundo stations) will start offering a new newscast at 4:30pm starting November 3rd. Here is the full release.

The Telemundo Station Group today announced an expansion of its local news programming, unveiling plans to launch a new 30-minute newscast weekdays at 5:30 PM ET / 4:30 PM CT beginning Monday, November 3 at 14 of its stations. The expansion will result in viewers receiving an additional 150 minutes of local breaking news coverage and up-to-the-minute weather reports each week in their markets. To support this initiative, the Telemundo Station Group expects to immediately hire nearly 30 additional employees to boost the local newsrooms.

“Today’s announcement marks a new era for the Telemundo Station Group and Spanish-language news,” said Manuel Martinez, President, Telemundo Station Group. “All of our stations have a commitment to deliver the best local breaking news and weather to our viewers and this expansion will help us deliver the type of news coverage our viewers demand and deserve.”

Complementing the Telemundo Station Group news expansion, Telemundo Network’s afternoon schedule will shift to offer its viewers the news and entertainment they have come to expect even earlier in the day. The network’s daily entertainment show “Suelta la Sopa” will now air at 2 PM ET / 1 PM CT; “Caso Cerrado,” hosted by the popular Ana Maria Polo, will now air at 3 PM ET / 2 PM CT; “Al Rojo Vivo con Maria Celeste,” the Emmy-award winning daily news magazine that sets the news and entertainment agenda for Hispanics, will air at 4 PM ET / 3 PM CT; and “The Best of Caso Cerrado,” will air at 5 PM ET / 4 PM CT, offering the best court cases packed in a completely new half-hour format.

The Telemundo stations that will add the new half-hour newscast include: Telemundo52 Los Angeles, Telemundo 47 New York, Telemundo 51 Miami, Telemundo 47 Houston, Telemundo39 Dallas-Fort Worth, Telemundo Chicago, Telemundo 48 Area de la Bahía, Telemundo San Antonio, Telemundo Phoenix, Telemundo Tucson, Telemundo 40 McAllen, Telemundo 25 Denver, Telemundo62 Philadelphia and Telemundo Las Vegas.

“We are thrilled to partner with our stations across the country to offer our viewers the national news and entertainment they have come to love even earlier,” said Luis Silberwasser, President, Telemundo Network. “Based on the double-digit ratings growth year over year we’ve seen across our news properties, we are confident our viewers will enjoy getting their news and entertainment content first at Telemundo.”

The local news expansion continues the increased commitment NBCUniversal has made across the Telemundo network and at local Telemundo stations to better serve Spanish-language viewers across the country. Since 2013, NBCUniversal has made a series of investments to its local Spanish-language stations that make up the Telemundo Station Group, a division of NBCUniversal Owned Television Stations. Investments include boosting live, local news, weather and sports coverage in all stations. In addition to the production of news specials and documentaries, Telemundo Network recently announced the launch of a national weekend newscast, “Noticiero Telemundo Fin de Semana,” that will premiere on October 4. It will be anchored by Edgardo del Villar.

Martinez added, “I am proud of the enhancements the Telemundo Station Group has made this past year, including the launch of new local newscasts in Las Vegas, Philadelphia, Phoenix and San Jose, and look forward to continuing to honor our commitment of keeping our Hispanic communities informed with the critical news they need.”


1 comment:

  1. It'll be a matter of time before KXLN-TV Univision 45 UPS the ante.

    ReplyDelete