SHOP WITH MIKE MCGUFF ON AMAZON! - Help support this blog by buying from my list.

Wednesday, May 19, 2010

ABC owned stations get leadership change

Big changes are happening within the ABC owned and operated television group. The man in charge, Walter Liss, is retiring:

ABC Owned Television Stations announced Wednesday (May 19) a changing of the guard at the top. Rebecca Campbell was named to succeed Walter Liss as president of the TV group. Liss, a 30-year veteran of The Walt Disney Company who has led the station group since 1999, is retiring. Liss will immediately move into a consultancy role during the transition.

In her new position, Campbell will have management responsibility for ABC's 10 owned stations in some of the nation's largest TV markets, including WABC-TV, where Campbell has served as president and general manager of the station and its ancillary businesses, including two digital TV channels,, TAXI TV and the syndicated Live with Regis and Kelly. READ MORE

According to ABC, the group of TV stations consists of WABC-TV in New York; KABC-TV in Los Angeles; WLS-TV in Chicago; WPVI-TV in Philadelphia; KGO-TV in San Francisco; KTRK-TV in Houston; WTVD-TV in Raleigh-Durham, NC; KFSN-TV in Fresno, CA; WJRT-TV in Flint, MI; and WTVG-TV in Toledo, OH. The station group reaches 24% of the nation’s television households.

Who knows what changes, if any, these stations will face during this transition. COMMENT: Click to leave your thoughts on this post here